Austin Schotts is a Cool Dude

11 Jun

With the 121st selection (3rd Round) in the 2012 MLB Draft, the Detroit Tigers selected Austin Schotts, a prep star from the state of Texas.

The other day, I tweeted the Tigers’ high draft pick. Asking him if he would be interested in an interview for my blog. Figuring that the guy had already been blown up with tweets similar to mine, I went on with my day. I figured that one of his 650 followers, and some 300 that followed him on the day of his selection, had already bothered him enough. I figured that a soon to be professional and possible millionaire, would just blow off my request. Understandably so, I mean these athletes are constantly being chased after by the media and by fans.

Boy was I wrong, I had barely set my phone down before I received a tweet from Schotts. He said that he would love to take part in an interview.

Now for those who don’t know me. I am probably the biggest Tigers fan in the world. I literally watch every game, write about the team at least three times a week, and follow the club’s minor league teams rigorously. So needless to say, I was not only extremely happy that he responded, but over joyed that I would be getting the chance to talk to a Detroit Tiger.

Schotts then went on to set me up with his email, explaining that I could shoot him an email “whenever.” While exchanging a few messages, Austin slipped in a few jokes, let me in on his plans for the next few days, offered to do the interview over email if that was more convenient for myself, attached a few videos (Per request from myself) of his highlights, and said that he’d love to call me on Tuesday.

Can you even imagine a professional athlete, especially this man who is completely in the midst of THE most hectic time in his life, cater to my requests in order to help me out on something that he has zero obligations in.

I guess some athletes are just different. Some athletes are humble and realize how important these interactions are with the media and fans like myself. I will never forget this experience. I went in hoping to ask the guy a few questions, and Im leaving with a story that will never exit my mind.

Its beyond special for fans to get an autograph from their favorite athlete, it makes their life if the athlete stops and says a few words to them. Its just nice that Austin Schotts is one of those athletes who appreciates people, and is willing to go the extra mile to make others feel special.

For now, Austin will remain one of my favorite baseball players.

A full, complete and exclusive interview on the 3rd round pick will be posted within the next week or so.

James Nahikian blogs about the industry of sports. And specializes in articles about the Detroit Tigers, Major League Baseball and Bowling Green State University Athletics. Email him at jnahikian77@gmail.com And follow him on twitter @KingNahikian or facebook where you can find links to his articles and updates about future posts.

Leave a Reply

